Posted by: austend | Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Neither Rich Nor Poor

I ran into something very interesting written by Agur in Proverbs 30 the other day.  I am sorry to say that I have never noticed it before.  Here’s verses 7-9 (NET):

Two things I ask from you; do not refuse me before I die:  (8)  Remove falsehood and lies far from me; do not give me poverty or riches, feed me with my allotted portion of bread, (9) lest I become satisfied and act deceptively and say, “Who is the LORD?” Or lest I become poor and steal and demean the name of my God.

The bold words really struck me.  The writer asks God to not let him be rich and not let him be poor.  If he is made to be rich, then he will be tempted to be self-sufficient and boast against God.  If he is made to be poor, then he might have to resort to dishonest means of financial gain, and thereby bring dishonor to God.  So, he asks that God would just take care of his basic needs.  He doesn’t need wealth.  He prefers not to be poor.  He just wants to be taken care of.  Nothing more, nothing less.

What a lesson for us today, especially for those in America who dream of millions!  What a timely and appropriate thought.  May that be our prayer.  “Father, don’t allow me to become rich, lest I have no further need of You; and don’t let me become poor, lest I dishonor you in my seemingly desperate plight.  Just meet my basic needs, and I’ll be content.”  What good advice from a 3,000 year old proverb!

Leave a Reply

Categories

