Posted by: austend | Sunday, November 4, 2007

Modern Hymnwriters

Not many modern Christian songs are worth listening to, let alone meditating on, let alone singing in church, but there is one bright exception–those written by Keith & Kristyn Getty. They have written some extraordinary Christian music for this generation. Their goal is to produce hymns, not just music. As a result, then, their lyrics are rich in theology. They have teamed up with Stuart Townend to write many songs. (Townsend wrote “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us” {here}, which is one of the greatest songs ever written, in my humble opinion.) Here is one of their newest songs entitled, “Jesus Draw Me Ever Nearer.”

 

“Jesus draw me ever nearer
As I labour through the storm.
You have called me to this passage,
and I’ll follow, though I’m worn.

 

“May this journey bring a blessing,
May I rise on wings of faith;
And at the end of my heart’s testing,
With Your likeness let me wake.

 

“Jesus guide me through the tempest;
Keep my spirit staid and sure.
When the midnight meets the morning,
Let me love You even more.

 

“Let the treasures of the trial
Form within me as I go –
And at the end of this long passage,
Let me leave them at Your throne.”

 

That second verse’s last two lines are certainly interesting: “And at the end of my heart’s testing, With Your likeness let me wake.” The goal of all testing of our faith is to make us more like Christ. This song should be our prayer when we go through difficult times, knowing that God does not test us for no reason. We can either become stronger by trusting Him, or we can grow weak by doubting His goodness. Which will you choose?

Check out the Getty’s here and this song specifically here. And, by the way, you cannot even begin to fully appreciate this song until you hear the beautiful Irish voice of Kathryn Getty sing it, so check out that page and make sure your speakers are turned on! Words to this song are actually by Margaret Becker.

Leave a Reply

Categories

