Posted by: austend | Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Preface & Dedication

For quite some time I have resisted having a public blog site. My reasons for this were diverse, but included two main reasons: 1) Who really cares what I have to say? 2) Most of my writing is too personal to be made freely available to anyone with an internet connection. However, in the last few days I have had my mind changed. Two men (Todd and Gunner) have challenged my view on blog-writing and have greatly contributed to the current publication. But the main thought-changer was when I read the marvelous blog of a young lady at my school that I stumbled upon. Her writing was among the most detailed and God-centered that I have read from anyone of my generation. I was unbelievably impressed and felt compelled to compliment here, which I did. Her writing made me realize several important things: 1) Others can possibly be edified by my writing. 2) By sharing my gleanings from my studying or reading I am not remaining an ogre, stingily keeping the golden nuggets and brilliant gems harvested from minds more spiritual and dedicated than my own as a miser would his precious possessions. They are not my own to keep anyways. 3) As my dear friend Todd always says, “The best way to learn is to teach.” I realized in great conviction through that young lady’s blog that I sat in chapel, and I judged the speaker’s accuracy and ability, and I discerned his message, and I approved or disapproved what he said, but those good things that he did say I did not remember or, worse yet, put into practice in my life. I have been a hearer of the Word and not a doer. Thus, I decided to begin a public forum to hopefully encourage a few souls out there, share my gleanings with them, and record those important things that I hear or learn that I must remember and put into practice in my own spiritual walk. I will continue to keep a private journal to record my more personal thoughts, but I hope to use this communication tool to perhaps help one or two souls here or there by the richness of God’s Word that those I read, hear, or observe share with me. May God make use of this meager attempt and profit others by the reading from it.

Responses

  1. Austen- Glad to see you’re putting some of that new found free time into good use in the blogosphere. I’m excited to keep checking back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

