Posted by: austend | Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Jesus, Thy Blood and Righteousness

This song has been going through my head for several days now. It was written long ago by Nikolaus von Zinzendorf in 1739. Its truth about our position “in Christ” (from Ephesians) is astounding.

Jesus, Thy blood and righteousness
My beauty are, my glorious dress;
’Midst flaming worlds, in these arrayed,
With joy shall I lift up my head.

 

Bold shall I stand in Thy great day;
For who aught to my charge shall lay?
Fully absolved through these I am
From sin and fear, from guilt and shame.

 

* * *

 

Lord, I believe Thy precious blood,
Which, at the mercy seat of God,
Forever doth for sinners plead,
For me, e’en for my soul, was shed.

 

Lord, I believe were sinners more
Than sands upon the ocean shore,
Thou hast for all a ransom paid,
For all a full atonement made.

We find in Scripture that because Christ died, I died. I was immersed into Christ’s death and resurrection. Therefore, I stand in Christ as complete as He is. I have had the righteousness of Christ imputed to my account. That is the only way I can stand before God the Almighty Judge. I stand guiltless in Christ. When Christ looks at me, He sees Christ. Thus “amidst flaming worlds” I can lift my head in joy to the Judge of Souls because I am spotless–a forgiven sinner–before Him thanks to Christ’s death and righteousness imputed to me. None can charge me with sin, for Christ has paid for all my sin, and I now have His righteousness. What a Gospel!

These are not all the verses, but they are the ones that stand out to me the most. See here for more.

 

Responses

  1. Yeah — hymns used to preach sermons. And this is a great one. Thanks for posting it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

